ChatGPT Usage Limits by Plan: What OpenAI Publishes

12 min read

ChatGPT usage limits by plan, read on OpenAI's pages on 31 October 2026: which limits have a number, where to see your reset time and what to do at the limit.

Renaissance-style landscape of a mountain path climbing toward a monastery in morning light, a red cloak on the trail

OpenAI’s pricing docs send you to the usage dashboard “for current limits and reset times”, and to /status for your “remaining limits during an active Codex CLI session”. Of the ChatGPT usage limits, OpenAI prints allowance numbers (how much you can use before a reset) for two as of 31 October 2026, live voice hours and the Work and Codex five-hour estimates, and no count at all for text chats, Thinking messages, image generation or deep research. For chat models, its help center says only that “ChatGPT displays when an allowance resets when that information is available.”

Checked on OpenAI’s pages, 31 October 2026. Every cell quotes OpenAI’s figure or label, linked in the row label, or says “not published” or “not available”. OpenAI changed Pro’s Work and Codex allowances on 29 October, so check the date before you trust a row.

Limit (source)FreeGoPlusPro
Everyday text chatsUnlimited*, no countUnlimited*, no countUnlimited*, no count; the Plus card adds “Limits apply”Unlimited*, no count
Work and Codex, local messages per five hours on GPT-6.1 SolNot available (Codex on Free is GPT-6 Luna in the desktop app, no estimate published)Not available (Codex on Go is GPT-6 Luna in the desktop app, no estimate published)15-160, an estimateNo five-hour limit
Live voice per rolling 24 hours”Limited access”, no number3 hours on GPT-Live-1.1 Quip, per the Voice article (the Go article differs)3 hours on GPT-Live-1.1Pro 100: 15 hours. Pro 200: unlimited**. Pro 500: not published
Image generation in chat”Limited”, no numberNot publishedNot publishedUnlimited, no count (Pro card: “Unlimited and faster image creation”, subject to abuse guardrails)
Deep research tasks”Limited”, no number”Limited”, no numberNot publishedNot published

* The pricing table’s footnote: “Usage must be reasonable and comply with our policies. Usage refers to Chat limits.” ** “subject to abuse guardrails”, per the Voice article.

The Codex counts OpenAI does print are ranges it calls estimates, “not fixed message limits”, so for a heavy Codex or Work week my advice is to plan around the reset time on your usage dashboard, not a message count. Plan prices, the Pro 100, 200 and 500 allowance changes and which plan to buy are in my Go vs Plus vs Pro comparison, which also sets out why OpenAI’s Go article and its Voice article disagree on Go’s voice limit.

ChatGPT Has Two Usage Meters: Chat, and Work and Codex

OpenAI meters chat and its agent products separately. Its GPT-6 models article says “Usage and credit rules in Work and Codex are separate from Chat”, and the Work and Codex pricing page says “ChatGPT Work and Codex share usage.” The Pro tiers article repeats it for Pro models: the weekly GPT-6 Pro message limits “are separate from your Work and Codex allowance.”

In practice, a Codex message in the CLI and a ChatGPT Work task draw on one shared allowance, while chat usage is metered separately, in several allowances of its own: Thinking, each Pro model, deep research, live voice and tools such as uploads and image generation. Voice in the desktop app sits on the Codex side: the pricing page says it “uses your existing Codex usage budget”. The two sides also differ in what OpenAI publishes and where the reset shows:

Diagram of the two ChatGPT usage meters as of 31 October 2026. Chat is a group of separate allowances for text chats, Thinking levels, GPT-6 Pro, voice in Chat, image generation, deep research and uploads; OpenAI publishes live voice hours per rolling 24 hours and no count for chats, Thinking, GPT-6 Pro, images or deep research; the reset shows in ChatGPT when that information is available, plus a deep research counter; at the limit you use another available model or wait. Work and Codex share one allowance covering the Codex app, CLI, IDE and cloud, ChatGPT Work, Voice in the desktop app, and Excel and PowerPoint on Plus and Pro; Plus has estimated local messages per five hours such as 15-160 on GPT-6.1 Sol, Pro has no five-hour limit, and weekly limits may also apply with no number; the reset shows on the usage dashboard at chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage; at the limit the running turn can finish, then credits on Plus and Pro or an API key at API rates

ChatGPT Usage Limits by Plan, Row by Row (Checked 31 October 2026)

Work and Codex: OpenAI’s Five-Hour Estimates

The Work and Codex pricing page gives “local messages per five-hour period for Plus and Standard Business”, the same range on both plans:

Model in Work or CodexPlus and Standard Business, local messages per five hours
GPT-6 Astra5-45
GPT-6.1 Sol15-160
GPT-6.1 Terra35-285
GPT-6 Sol15-150
GPT-6 Luna350-3,000

The rules around that table, from the same page:

  • Pro: “Pro plans currently have no five-hour limit.”
  • Weekly: “Weekly limits may also apply.” The page gives no weekly number.
  • Cloud tasks: they “may use more of your allowance than local messages”, and local messages and cloud chats share one allowance.
  • Free and Go: Codex is “GPT-6 Luna at Standard speed in the desktop app, subject to rollout”, with no estimate.
  • Enterprise and Edu: with flexible pricing, “no fixed rate limits”; without it, “the same per-seat usage limits as Plus for most features.”

The Pro tiers article, which describes the 29 October 2026 change to Pro allowances, says “Plus usage is unchanged.”

Advertisements

Chat: Thinking, Pro Models, Uploads and Chat Length

LimitFreeGoPlusProSource
Thinking at Medium and High (GPT-6 Sol)Not includedNot includedIncluded; limit not publishedIncluded; limit not publishedGPT-6 models article
Thinking at Extra HighNot includedNot includedNot includedIncluded; limit not publishedGPT-6 models article
GPT-6 Pro messagesNoNoNoA weekly limit; number not publishedGPT-6 models article, Pro tiers article
File uploads and data analysis”Limited”; separate limitsHigher than Free; no numberNot publishedNot publishedFree tier FAQ, Go article, Pricing table
Chat length (GPT Instant context window)27K54K54K128KPricing table
Busy periodsNot stated”temporary restrictions during high demand""message caps, especially during high demand”Not statedGo article, Plus article

On GPT-6 Pro, the models article is plain: “A Pro subscription does not include unlimited use of the GPT-6 Pro model.” On Free and Go, text chats are unlimited “subject to abuse-prevention safeguards”, while “file uploads, image generation, voice, data analysis, and other tools” have separate limits.

Free’s Ads-Free mode comes with lower limits than standard Free, and my guide to the free year of ChatGPT Go in India quotes what OpenAI’s ads FAQ says that mode gives up.

Where to See Your ChatGPT Usage Limits and Reset Time

What you useWhere OpenAI says to lookWhat it shows
Codex and ChatGPT WorkThe usage dashboard”current limits and reset times”; OpenAI suggests checking it “every week or two to understand your pace and remaining capacity”
Codex CLI, mid-session/statusYour “remaining limits”, per the pricing page; the CLI slash-command reference describes it as session configuration and “current token usage”
Codex CLI/usage, or /usage daily, /usage weekly, /usage cumulativeToken activity, or an option to “redeem an available earned reset”
Codex CLI footer/statusline, then the rate limits itemRate limits kept in the footer
CreditsSettings > Usage in ChatGPT, or Usage & Billing in the Codex appYour balance, purchases and auto reload, per OpenAI’s credits article
Thinking and Pro models in chatChatGPT, when you reach the limitThe reset time, “when that information is available”
Deep researchThe in-product usage counter, per the deep research article”your remaining tasks”; a fixed monthly allowance “resets every 30 days from the date of your first use”
Live voiceA notification”ChatGPT will notify you when you reach a limit”; usage is measured over a rolling 24 hours
Free plan toolsA notification”ChatGPT will notify you when you reach an applicable limit”

The articles linked here name Settings > Usage for credit balances and the usage dashboard for Work and Codex. None of them names a page that lists your remaining chat-model allowance before you reach it.

Can You Reset a ChatGPT Usage Limit?

Not on request: the Pro tiers article says “Support cannot reset ChatGPT or Codex limits”, and the GPT-6 models article adds that Support can investigate “if you believe your usage was counted incorrectly.” OpenAI documents two cases where a limit does reset early:

  1. Upgrading from Free: the Free tier FAQ says “your usage rates will reset when you update your account to a Plus plan, a Pro plan, or a Business plan.”
  2. A banked Codex reset: OpenAI’s release notes for 11 June 2026 gave eligible Plus and Pro users “rate-limit reset banking, including one free reset at launch”, plus a banked reset for both people when an eligible invitee sends a first Codex message, and “Banked resets are usable for 30 days after they are granted.” In the CLI, /usage is where you redeem one. The pricing page now says the invitation dialog “shows the current reward”, so check it before you count on a reset.

The Pro tiers article also rules out a workaround: “You cannot bypass a limit or increase it through a setting.”

What Happens When You Hit a ChatGPT Limit

Limit you hitWhat OpenAI says happensWays to keep going
Thinking (Medium to Extra High)“ChatGPT may continue with another available model”Another model, or wait for the displayed reset
GPT-6 Pro on Pro 200”ChatGPT automatically switches to GPT-5.6 Thinking at Medium”GPT-5.6 Sol Pro while its daily allowance lasts, or wait for the weekly reset
GPT-6 Pro on Pro 100GPT-6 Pro and GPT-5.6 Sol Pro “draw from one weekly allowance”Wait for the weekly reset
Work or Codex, mid-task”the agent will be able to continue working on that turn, subject to fair use limits”Let the turn finish
Work or Codex, after thatPlus and Pro users “can purchase additional credits to continue working without needing to upgrade their existing plan”Credits; on Free and Go, credit purchases are open to “a limited group”; any plan can “run extra local chats using an API key, with usage charged at standard API rates”
Live voiceChatGPT notifies youWait for the rolling 24-hour window
A Free plan tool limit”you will need to wait for a later time to use any of these tools”Wait, or upgrade, which resets it
A full chat (context window)“The full-chat notice doesn’t give a reset time for the original conversation”Start a new chat; the Free tier FAQ says “You can start a new chat right away”

Sources: the GPT-6 models article for the Thinking and GPT-6 Pro rows, the Work and Codex pricing page and the credits article for the Work and Codex rows, the Voice article, and the Free tier FAQ. The Pro tiers article adds that “A usage limit does not end your subscription or mean your account is restricted.”

Credits come with conditions, per the credits article and the Pro tiers article:

  • Included usage is spent first, then the credit balance.
  • They cover “Codex, ChatGPT Work, Word, Excel, and PowerPoint”, and “Credits do not provide additional usage for every ChatGPT model or feature”; Thinking and GPT-6 Pro chats are not on that list.
  • “Credits are valid for 12 months from purchase” and are non-refundable apart from listed exceptions such as a verified billing error.
  • “These credits are not API credits.”

For the rupee prices of each plan if the answer is an upgrade, see ChatGPT’s plans priced in rupees, with GST.

What Uses ChatGPT Limits Faster

OpenAI names these on the Work and Codex pricing page, the Pro tiers article and the credits article:

What you doEffect on your allowance
Generate images in Work or Codex”use included limits ~3-5x faster on average, depending on image quality and size”, and draw on credits once included limits run out
Turn on Fast mode2.5x the Standard rate of included usage
Use Ultrafast (Pro 500) on GPT-6 Astra or GPT-6.1 Sol8x the Standard rate of included usage
Run a cloud task instead of a local message”may use more of your allowance”
Work in a large project or a long sessionSessions that “require the agent to hold more context will use significantly more per message”
Keep many MCP servers on”Every MCP server adds more context to your messages and uses more of your limit”
Use ChatGPT for Excel, PowerPoint or Word on Plus or ProThey can share the agentic allowance with Work and Codex; a typical Excel task “may use 5-20 credits per message” and a PowerPoint task “10-50 credits per message”
Talk to Voice in the desktop app”uses your existing Codex usage budget at $0.05 per minute”

Auto-review safety checks run the other way: they “are free and don’t count toward your plan’s usage limits” when you are signed in with a ChatGPT account. OpenAI’s own advice for stretching the allowance is to trim prompts, limit source material, define the output length and shrink your AGENTS.md files.

OpenAI adds that “Tasks that look similar can consume different amounts of your allowance” (pricing page), and, on the doubled Pro allowances, that “A larger allowance does not guarantee twice as many completed tasks” (Pro tiers article).

How ChatGPT’s Limits Compare With Claude and Gemini

On Claude, chat and Claude Code draw on one pool rather than separate chat and agent allowances; my guide to Claude usage limits covers that pool and its ways back. Claude Pro against ChatGPT Plus puts the two $20 plans side by side, and ChatGPT Go against Google AI Plus does the same at the entry tier, with a row on how each plan’s limits reset.

ChatGPT Usage Limits: Plan Around the Reset Time

Of the ChatGPT usage limits, OpenAI publishes message and hour allowances as numbers in two places, voice hours and the Codex five-hour estimates, and calls the Codex ones estimates. For Work and Codex, the reset time is the figure you can act on.

Before a long Work or Codex session, open the usage dashboard and note when your allowance resets.

Next read Claude Usage Limits: The Four Ways Back When You Hit One Claude usage limits as of October 2026: four ways back when you hit one, what draws from the shared pool, and how free limit resets and usage credits work.

Frequently Asked Questions

What are the ChatGPT usage limits?

As of 31 October 2026, OpenAI publishes allowance numbers for two of them: live voice per rolling 24 hours (3 hours on Go and Plus, 15 hours on Pro 100, unlimited on Pro 200 subject to abuse guardrails) and estimated Work and Codex local messages per five hours on Plus, such as 15-160 on GPT-6.1 Sol. Text chats are marked unlimited subject to reasonable use, and Thinking, image generation and deep research have no published count.

How do I check my ChatGPT usage limit?

For Codex and ChatGPT Work, OpenAI points to the usage dashboard at chatgpt.com/codex/settings/usage, and to /status during an active Codex CLI session. For chat models, ChatGPT shows when an allowance resets when that information is available, and deep research has an in-product counter of remaining tasks.

When does the ChatGPT limit reset?

It depends on the limit. Work and Codex estimates are per five-hour period, with weekly limits that may also apply; live voice is measured over a rolling 24 hours; deep research on plans with a fixed monthly allowance resets every 30 days from your first use. For other chat limits, ChatGPT displays the reset time when it has one.

What is the ChatGPT Plus message limit?

OpenAI publishes no message count for Plus chats as of 31 October 2026. The pricing table marks everyday text chats Unlimited, subject to reasonable use, the Plus card says Limits apply, and the Plus article says Plus may include message caps, especially during high demand. In Work and Codex, OpenAI estimates 5-45 to 350-3,000 local messages per five hours on Plus, depending on the model.

What happens when you hit the ChatGPT limit?

In chat, ChatGPT may continue with another available model, or you wait for the displayed reset. In Work and Codex, a turn already running can finish subject to fair use, Plus and Pro users can buy credits, and any user can run extra local chats with an API key at API rates. OpenAI Support cannot reset limits.

Advertisements
Swapnil Biswas

Written by Swapnil Biswas

Senior Product Marketing Manager at TestMu AI

I write the brief. Then I build it. I love AI enough to build the tools and automations I market with.