Claude Pro Price in India: App Store, Google Play and Web
The Claude Pro price in India depends on the checkout: Rs 1,999 a month on Apple's App Store and $20 on Anthropic's pricing page, as read on 10 October 2026.
Apple’s India App Store listing for Claude showed Claude Pro at ₹1,999 a month on 10 October 2026, and Anthropic’s own pricing page, opened logged out from an Indian connection the same day, showed $20 a month before tax. Each is a Claude Pro price in India that a buyer can be shown, and the one you pay depends on where you check out.
Claude Pro in India costs ₹1,999 a month or ₹19,900 a year on Apple’s App Store (listing read 10 October 2026), and Google Play’s India listing shows in-app purchases from ₹1,999.00 with GST included. Anthropic’s pricing page shows $20 a month or $200 a year before tax, and Indian press reported ₹2,399 a month on the web in July 2026.
| Plan | Apple App Store, India | Google Play, India | Web, as reported by Indian press on 14 July 2026 | Anthropic’s list price in dollars |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Pro, monthly | ₹1,999 | One range for every item: ₹1,999.00 to ₹24,987.50 | ₹2,399 | $20 |
| Pro, annual | ₹19,900 a year | Not listed per plan | ₹24,000 a year, printed as ₹2,000 or ₹1,999 a month | $200 a year, shown as $17 a month |
| Max 5x, monthly | ₹12,900 | Not listed per plan | ₹11,999 | $100 |
| Max 20x, monthly | ₹24,900 | Not listed per plan | ₹23,999 | $200 |
The two store columns come from the listings themselves on 10 October 2026: Apple’s In-App Purchases list, and the range in the About this app panel of Google Play’s India listing. The web column takes its figures from reports by the Deccan Chronicle and the Free Press Journal, which disagree on one cell, and the last column is Anthropic’s pricing page for Pro and its Max plan article for the two Max prices. Any of these prices can change.
I would not quote one Claude price for India. I would pick the checkout first and read the price on that checkout’s own screen.
Among the two stores and the Anthropic pages I read, only Apple’s listing shows a rupee price per plan without a login. Google’s is a range, Anthropic’s public page is in dollars, and the web rupee figures are press reports that Anthropic’s pages do not repeat.
Is Claude Cheaper in India Through the App or the Website?
Going by Apple’s listing on 10 October 2026 and the web prices Indian press reported in July 2026, the App Store is ₹400 a month cheaper for Pro and the website is ₹901 a month cheaper for Max. Google Play lists no per-plan price to compare. The two sides are dated nearly three months apart, so I treat the gap as provisional until claude.ai/upgrade confirms the web figures.
| Plan | App Store, India (listed 10 October 2026) | Web (reported 14 July 2026) | Difference |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pro, monthly | ₹1,999 | ₹2,399 | App Store is ₹400 a month lower |
| Pro, annual | ₹19,900 | ₹24,000 | App Store is ₹4,100 a year lower |
| Max 5x, monthly | ₹12,900 | ₹11,999 | Web is ₹901 a month lower |
| Max 20x, monthly | ₹24,900 | ₹23,999 | Web is ₹901 a month lower |
Both columns are tax-inclusive by their sources. The Deccan Chronicle and Free Press Journal reports describe the web rupee prices as including GST, and Apple’s pricing rule for developers, from its 2023 tech talk on App Store pricing, is that prices shown to customers outside the US and Canada include tax.
Anthropic’s Max plan article lists $100 and $200 a month and adds: “These prices are for web subscriptions only. Mobile pricing may vary depending on your app platform.” The Pro plan article points to both places: “Visit claude.ai/upgrade or check your mobile app store for current pricing in your region.”
If claude.ai/upgrade shows you dollars instead of rupees, take the checkout total with any tax added, convert it at your card’s rate and set that number against the App Store price.
The checkout also decides more than the price:
| What the checkout decides | Web (claude.ai) | App Store or Google Play |
|---|---|---|
| Who bills you | Anthropic, with invoices emailed under the subject line “Your receipt from Anthropic” | Apple or Google; for app subscriptions “Anthropic doesn’t issue your invoices” |
| Usage credits past your plan’s limits | Enabled and bought on the web | Also on the web: “You will not be able to set up usage credits on the mobile app.” |
| Refund requests | Through Anthropic’s support messenger | On iOS, “only Apple can review and issue a refund”; on Android, Anthropic’s Support team “will need to check your eligibility before assisting with a refund” |
Those rows come from Anthropic’s articles on Pro and Max invoices, usage credits and refunds.
Claude Pro Price in India on the App Store and Google Play
Apple’s India App Store lists a price for each plan, with Claude Pro at ₹1,999 a month or ₹19,900 a year as of 10 October 2026, while Google Play’s India listing shows one range for the whole app.
Apple’s In-App Purchases list sits in the listing’s Information section, under the provider name Anthropic PBC, and the listing’s text has no mention of GST or tax. Besides the Pro and Max plan prices, the list carries three more purchases, labelled on the listing as follows:
- Usage Credits (20): ₹1,999
- Usage Credits (50): ₹4,999
- Usage Credits (250): ₹19,900
Anthropic’s usage credits article says app subscribers enable and buy credits on the web, so I would confirm in the app before counting on those three. What usage credits are, and what each plan’s limits allow before you need them, is in my guide to Claude usage limits.
On Google Play, the About this app panel shows “In-app purchases” with a range of ₹1,999.00 to ₹24,987.50 per item, and the page footer says all prices include GST. The range does not name the item at either end. Its low end equals Apple’s Pro monthly price and its high end is ₹87.50 above Apple’s Max 20x price, so on Android the plan prices are best read on the upgrade screen inside the app.
To subscribe in either app, Anthropic’s articles on signing up for Pro in the iOS app and signing up for Pro on Android give the same steps: open the app, select your initials, choose “Upgrade to Pro” and follow the payment instructions.
Lovable, an AI app builder, also sells its plans in rupees on Apple’s India App Store, and my Lovable pricing guide for India found no other vendor or store page with a rupee price for it on 10 October 2026.
The Web Price: Dollars on Anthropic’s Pages, Rupees in Press Reports
Anthropic’s own pages state the web price in dollars: $0 for the Free plan, $20 a month or $200 a year for Pro, and $100 or $200 a month for Max. The rupee figures for the web come from press reports dated 13 and 14 July 2026.
TechCrunch’s report of 13 July 2026, by Jagmeet Singh, said “Local pricing has begun to appear for some users in India on Claude’s website and mobile apps.” It gave Claude Pro as ₹2,000 a month when billed annually and Claude Max as starting at ₹11,999, said the India prices include local taxes, and ended with: “Anthropic did not respond to a request for comment on the Indian rupee pricing rollout.”
Indian press published fuller price lists the next day, and the reports do not match on every cell:
| Report, 14 July 2026 | Pro, billed monthly | Pro, billed annually | Max |
|---|---|---|---|
| Deccan Chronicle | ₹2,399 a month | ₹2,000 a month | ₹11,999 and ₹23,999 a month |
| Free Press Journal | ₹2,399 a month | ₹1,999 a month, “taking the total annual cost to Rs. 24,000” | Max 5x ₹11,999, Max 20x ₹23,999 |
| Outlook Business | ₹2,000 a month, with no billing period stated | Not stated | Max at ₹11,999 |
| Open magazine | ”Rs 2,033.05 per month, billed monthly plus GST" | "17 per cent savings” against monthly billing | From ₹11,999 a month |
Arithmetic on the reports’ own numbers narrows the disagreement:
- ₹24,000 a year is the Deccan Chronicle’s ₹2,000 a month. Twelve payments of ₹1,999 come to ₹23,988, which is ₹12 short of the total the Free Press Journal gives in the same sentence.
- Open magazine’s ₹2,033.05 before GST equals the ₹2,399 the others print if the rate is 18%, the GST rate Outlook Business names: 2,033.05 x 1.18 = 2,399.00.
- Outlook Business prints ₹2,000 a month with no billing period; in the TechCrunch and Deccan Chronicle reports that figure is the annual-billing rate.
No Anthropic page I read on 10 October 2026 states a rupee price. The pricing page, the Pro and Max articles and the help center’s release notes carry no rupee figure and no mention of GST.
Claude India Pricing Not Showing? What the Public Page Does
Logged out, Anthropic’s public pricing page shows dollars to a visitor in India, so a missing rupee price there matches what I recorded on 10 October 2026.
Where a rupee (INR) price for your account would appear:
- Anthropic’s Pro plan article names two places: claude.ai/upgrade and your mobile app store.
- If you already subscribe and your bill is in dollars, Anthropic’s Pro and Max invoices article has the rule: “Some subscribers pay their subscriptions using a different currency than the currency (or currencies) new subscribers would be offered in their region.” To change it, you mark the plan to cancel at the end of its term, wait for the term to end and buy the plan again.
- Logged out, claude.ai/upgrade redirects to the login page, so the price for an account sits behind a login and this post cannot show it.
- claude.com/en-in/pricing and claude.com/in/pricing both returned a 404 on the same date, so there is no separate India pricing page at those addresses.
I loaded claude.com/pricing in a clean Chrome profile with no Claude login, on an Indian connection (Cloudflare’s trace returned loc=IN). The page showed $17 a month for Pro with $200 “billed up front”, $20 “if billed monthly”, “From $100” for Max, a footnote saying the prices shown exclude applicable tax, and no rupee sign anywhere.
That page loads a script, webflow-local-pricing.js, whose header comment calls it “Localized subscription pricing for claude.com pages”. The script asks one endpoint, https://claude.ai/api/billing/subscription_pricing, for prices by the visitor’s country, and its notes say “Server-rendered USD prices remain visible until the fetch resolves” and “If the fetch fails, USD stays.”
That endpoint is undocumented and can change without notice. Requested from the same Indian connection on 10 October 2026, it returned:
| Field in the response | Value returned for India |
|---|---|
| Country | IN |
| Currency | USD |
| Pro, monthly | 2000 minor units, which is $20 |
| Pro, annual | 20000 minor units, which is $200 |
| Max 5x and Max 20x, monthly | 10000 and 20000 minor units, which is $100 and $200 |
| Tax shown as included | false |
Asked for the United States, it returned the same amounts. Asked for Germany, through the ?country=DE test override described in the script’s header, it returned euros. So the endpoint carries local-currency prices for at least one other country, and on this date it answered India in dollars.
Some vendors do geo-serve rupees on a public pricing page. In my 7 September 2026 capture of SaaS pricing pages for a tier-name audit, four pages came back in Indian rupees: Slack, Mailchimp, Stripe and Grammarly.
Claude Pro Price in India Yearly: The Annual Plan Arithmetic
Apple’s India listing prices the annual plan at ₹19,900, which is ₹4,088 less than twelve monthly payments of ₹1,999.
| Checkout | Twelve monthly payments | Annual price | Annual plan saves |
|---|---|---|---|
| App Store, India | 12 x ₹1,999 = ₹23,988 | ₹19,900 | ₹4,088 (17.0%) |
| Web, as reported in July 2026 | 12 x ₹2,399 = ₹28,788 | ₹24,000 | ₹4,788 (16.6%) |
| Anthropic’s dollar list price | 12 x $20 = $240 | $200 | $40 (16.7%) |
| App Store, US | 12 x $20.00 = $240.00 | $214.99 | $25.01 (10.4%) |
The US row comes from Apple’s US listing for Claude on 10 October 2026. What the table means for a buyer in India:
- On the App Store, ten monthly payments come to ₹19,990, so the annual plan is ahead from the tenth month. On the July web figures, ten payments come to ₹23,990 against ₹24,000, so it is ahead from the eleventh.
- Annual billing is a prepayment. The FAQ on Anthropic’s pricing page says “you’re billed once up front for the year” and that payments are “generally non-refundable”, with exceptions in its consumer terms and in local law.
- Switching later is allowed from Settings > Billing. Anthropic’s annual billing article says unused monthly time “will be automatically credited to your first annual invoice”, so the lower-risk order is monthly first, then annual once you know you will keep the plan for most of a year.
- Max has no annual option. The Max plan article says the plan is “currently available as a monthly subscription only”.
Student pricing is a separate question, covered in the routes open to a student in India.
Claude Max Price in India
On Apple’s India listing, Claude Max is ₹12,900 a month for Max 5x and ₹24,900 for Max 20x as of 10 October 2026, against reported web prices of ₹11,999 and ₹23,999 and Anthropic’s list prices of $100 and $200.
- The App Store prices sit 7.5% and 3.8% above the reported web prices. On Apple’s US listing the same two plans are $124.99 and $249.99, which is 25% above Anthropic’s $100 and $200 web list prices.
- Google Play treats upgrades differently. Per the Max plan article, “If you subscribed through Google Play, you’re charged the full price of your new plan when you upgrade”, and the unused value of the old plan becomes extra days on the new one.
- Anthropic’s monthly API credits article gives Max monthly API credits in dollars: $100 on Max 5x and $200 on Max 20x. You claim them on claude.ai in a web browser whichever checkout you used, after seven days on the plan, and they do not cover interactive Claude Code.
Claude Price in India vs USA
On Apple’s India and US listings, Claude Pro is ₹1,999 a month and $20.00 a month. At the ₹96.6149 per US dollar that RBI’s Reference Rate Archive gives for 9 October 2026 (tick USD and enter the date in its form), the three monthly plans are listed 3% to 7% higher in India and the annual Pro plan about 4% lower. Under Apple’s pricing rule for developers, the India prices include tax and the US prices do not.
| Plan | App Store, India | App Store, US | Rupees per dollar the pair implies |
|---|---|---|---|
| Pro, monthly | ₹1,999 | $20.00 | 99.95 |
| Pro, annual | ₹19,900 | $214.99 | 92.56 |
| Max 5x, monthly | ₹12,900 | $124.99 | 103.21 |
| Max 20x, monthly | ₹24,900 | $249.99 | 99.60 |
The last column is the India price divided by the US price. Where a dollar costs you fewer rupees than that figure, the US listing is the lower price for that row. The percentages above are my arithmetic at that reference rate, and the rate your card applies may differ. The same division gives a rupees-per-dollar rate for Replit Core’s India App Store and replit.com prices, and Replit’s App Store versus web break-even turns on whether replit.com adds tax.
On the web, the endpoint that Anthropic’s pricing page calls returned the same before-tax dollar amounts for India as for the United States on 10 October 2026. For the reported rupee prices, TechCrunch’s July report converted ₹2,000 a month on annual billing to “about $21” and compared it with $17 a month in the US.
GST and Tax on a Claude Subscription in India
By each source’s own wording, the rupee prices include tax and the dollar price does not. Google Play’s India listing says all prices include GST, Apple’s pricing rule for developers includes tax in prices everywhere except the US and Canada, and the July press reports describe the web rupee prices as tax-inclusive, while Anthropic’s public pricing page shows dollars before tax.
None of the Anthropic pages below mentions GST by name. The wording on each page, as of 10 October 2026:
| Page | Its tax wording |
|---|---|
| Anthropic’s pricing page, as served logged out in India | ”Prices shown don’t include applicable tax.” |
| Anthropic’s Pro plan article | ”some regions include applicable taxes in the displayed price while others add tax at checkout” |
| Anthropic’s billing address article | ”Your billing address determines how taxes are calculated on your Claude purchases.” |
| Apple’s India listing | No tax wording |
| Apple’s 2023 developer tech talk on App Store pricing | Prices advertised to customers in all countries “except the U.S. and Canada include taxes” |
| Google Play’s India listing | ”All prices include GST.” |
| TechCrunch’s reporter, on the reported web rupee prices (not Anthropic’s wording) | “The India prices include local taxes.” |
For an invoice that carries a tax number, Anthropic’s Tax or VAT ID article describes a Tax or VAT ID field for Pro and Max subscriptions. At sign-up, “If your address is eligible for tax purposes, an optional field for your Tax or VAT ID will appear”, and later it sits behind the Update button in Settings > Billing.
The article does not use the words GST or GSTIN, and changes “will only apply to future billing cycles”. Whether a business can claim tax back on any of this is a question for an accountant, and none of these pages answers it.
How to Pay for Claude in India: Cards, UPI and App Store Billing
On the web, Anthropic’s billing FAQ says “we only accept credit or debit cards.” UPI is available when you subscribe inside the iOS or Android app, where Apple or Google takes the payment and each lists UPI among its payment methods for India.
| Checkout | Payment methods the vendor lists | Vendor page |
|---|---|---|
| Web (claude.ai) | Credit or debit cards | Anthropic’s paid plan billing FAQs |
| App Store (iPhone or iPad) | Apple Account balance, Mastercard, Net Banking (adding funds only), UPI, Visa | Apple’s payment methods page, India section, published 4 August 2026 |
| Google Play (Android) | Mastercard, Visa, “Rupay (one-off purchases only)”, Google Play balance and recharge codes, UPI | Google Play’s accepted payment methods for India |
- For app subscriptions, Anthropic’s billing FAQ says “available payment options are determined by the Apple App Store or Google Play.”
- Google’s wording on UPI is “Google Play supports UPI for all providers. You can use UPI to purchase subscriptions for apps that offer subscriptions.” The same page says net banking was discontinued on Google Play “From October 2025 onwards”.
- If a card fails on the web, Anthropic’s card decline article lists the checks: a supported billing location, a billing address that matches your bank’s record, 3DS verification where the bank asks for it, and an accepted method, since Anthropic does “not accept third-party payment processors such as PayPal or Venmo”.
- The table records what each vendor’s page listed on 10 October 2026, and no payment was made through any of them for this post.
Claude Code and API Pricing in India
Claude Code has no separate price in India. The FAQ on Anthropic’s pricing page says it “is included in all paid plans” and shares the plan’s usage limits, so its cost is the Pro or Max price at your checkout, and the Free plan does not include it. Which plans include Claude Code, and when a non-developer needs it, is a separate guide.
The API is billed separately and in dollars. Anthropic’s API pricing page says “All prices are in USD” and quotes rates per million tokens, and the Pro plan article says the plan “does not include API usage through the Claude Console”. I keep per-token prices by model and what changes when Claude Code runs on an API key in their own guides.
Claude Pro vs ChatGPT Go in India
On Apple’s India App Store, ChatGPT Go is ₹399 a month and Claude Pro is ₹1,999, so Pro costs five times as much there. That multiple holds on the App Store prices only, since Claude’s web price in India is either a dollar figure or a reported one.
| Checkout in India | ChatGPT Go | Claude Pro | Pro as a multiple of Go |
|---|---|---|---|
| Apple App Store, listings read 10 October 2026 | ₹399 | ₹1,999 | 5.0x |
| Google Play, where each range starts | ₹399.00 | ₹1,999.00 | Not stated: neither range names its items |
| Web price | ₹399 a month with GST included | $20 before tax on Anthropic’s public page, or ₹2,399 in July press reports | 6.0x on the press figure |
| UPI on the web | Yes, on Go and Plus | No, cards only | Not applicable |
| Annual plan | None | Yes, on Pro | Not applicable |
Where each ChatGPT cell comes from:
- The store rows are OpenAI’s India App Store listing for ChatGPT and its Google Play India listing.
- The web price is the per-country file that the pricing page’s script requests,
https://chatgpt.com/backend-api/checkout_pricing_config/configs/IN. On 10 October 2026 it returned 399 a month for Go with tax marked inclusive and the tax type GST. It is undocumented and can change. - OpenAI’s multi-currency billing article lists INR for India and says UPI is available for Go and Plus plans and is not offered for Pro or Business.
- OpenAI’s ChatGPT Go article says “we do not support annual billing” for ChatGPT Go.
On features, OpenAI’s pricing page marks Codex and deep research as “Limited” on Go and says the plan “may include ads”, while Anthropic’s pricing table marks Claude Code and Research as “Yes” on Pro and “No” on Free. ChatGPT Plus is ₹1,999 on the same App Store listing, the same figure as Claude Pro, and my Claude vs ChatGPT comparison sets those two plans side by side.
Claude Pro Price in India: Read It at Your Own Checkout
As of 10 October 2026, the public pages do not agree on one figure for Claude Pro in India. Apple lists ₹1,999 a month, Google lists a range that includes GST, and Anthropic’s pricing page shows a logged-out visitor in India $20 before tax. The price that counts is the one on the checkout you use, so settle the checkout first.
Recheck these on the day you pay, since all of them change:
- Apple’s India listing, for the per-plan App Store prices
- Google Play’s India listing, for the range and its GST line
- claude.ai/upgrade after you log in, for the web price on your account
Compare claude.ai/upgrade with the upgrade screen in your app before you subscribe.
Frequently Asked Questions
What is the Claude AI price in India per month?
Claude has a free plan, and the paid Pro plan is ₹1,999 a month on Apple's India App Store as of 10 October 2026. Anthropic's public pricing page shows Pro at $20 a month before tax to a logged-out visitor in India, and Indian press reported a web price of ₹2,399 a month in July 2026, so check claude.ai/upgrade after you log in.
How much is the Claude Pro annual plan in India?
Apple's India App Store lists Claude Pro Annual at ₹19,900 as of 10 October 2026, which is ₹4,088 less than twelve monthly payments of ₹1,999. Anthropic's pricing page lists $200 a year, and July 2026 press reports put the web annual plan at ₹24,000.
Can I pay for Claude Pro with UPI in India?
Not on the web: Anthropic's billing FAQ says web subscriptions accept only credit or debit cards. If you subscribe in the iOS or Android app, Apple or Google takes the payment, and both list UPI among their payment methods for India.
What is the Claude Max price in India?
Apple's India App Store lists Max 5x at ₹12,900 a month and Max 20x at ₹24,900 as of 10 October 2026. Anthropic's Max plan article gives $100 and $200 a month for web subscriptions, says mobile pricing may vary, and offers Max as a monthly plan only.
Do students pay less for Claude Pro in India?
Not on an individual plan: Anthropic's Pro plan article says it does not offer standard discounted pricing for any paid plan, though it occasionally runs limited-time promotions. Its pricing page lists an Education plan that an institution buys, with access for university members at discounted rates.