Copilot vs ChatGPT: Which Copilot You Mean and What It Costs
Copilot vs ChatGPT, checked on Microsoft and OpenAI pages on 25 October 2026: which Copilot you mean, the models each runs, and US and India prices side by side.
Microsoft Learn, read on 25 October 2026, says Copilot Chat includes “models (like GPT-5)” and that “by default, Copilot uses a real-time router to adjust the underlying model it uses based on your prompt”. Both assistants offer OpenAI models, and Microsoft now offers GPT-6 and Claude models to licensed Copilot users too, which leaves three things to weigh in Copilot vs ChatGPT: where each assistant lives, what data it can see and what it costs.
That last part depends on which of the seven Copilot rows in the table below you mean. Asking whether Copilot beats ChatGPT has no single answer, in my view, until you name which Copilot: the free app, a Microsoft 365 home plan, the chat your employer’s license includes, or a paid add-on. Each one maps to a different ChatGPT plan, at a different price.
Copilot vs ChatGPT in One Answer
Copilot is Microsoft’s assistant and ChatGPT is OpenAI’s. Microsoft’s work plans offer OpenAI’s GPT-5.X, and Microsoft is adding GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6.1 Sol and Claude models for licensed users in phases. The paid license brings Copilot into Word, Excel, Outlook and Teams, grounded in your email, meetings and files. ChatGPT is a standalone app on GPT-6. If your work lives in Microsoft 365, start with Copilot.
Is Copilot the Same as ChatGPT?
No. Copilot and ChatGPT are separate products from separate companies, sold and billed separately, though Microsoft’s Copilot plans run OpenAI models.
Here is what each vendor’s own page says about the models, as read on 25 October 2026:
| Product | Model wording on the vendor’s page | How the model is chosen |
|---|---|---|
| Copilot Chat (Basic), included with work licenses | ”models (like GPT-5)” (Microsoft Learn) | “Auto” mode routes between “Quick response” and “Think deeper”; a model selector sits at the top right |
| Business plans with Copilot and the Copilot Business add-on | ”Latest OpenAI models: GPT-5.X”, plus a “Model Choice” row (Microsoft pricing) | “Large language model (LLM) choice”: the user picks |
| Licensed Microsoft Copilot (model choice) | GPT-6 Sol and Claude Opus 5.5 joined model choice in September 2026; GPT-6.1 Sol and Claude Sonnet 5.5 roll out to Copilot Cowork and Copilot Studio, then in phases to Word, Excel, PowerPoint and Chat under the user subscription license (Microsoft Copilot Blog, 30 September 2026) | User picks, or Auto; “Availability and usage may vary by license, access, and region” |
| Licensed Microsoft Copilot experiences | ”Anthropic subprocessors are available only in applicable Microsoft 365 licensed experiences and aren’t available to all users by default” (Microsoft Learn) | Not stated |
| Free Copilot and Microsoft 365 Personal, Family, Premium, Pro | No model is named on Microsoft’s US or India plan pages I read | Not stated |
| ChatGPT | ”Plus, Pro, Business, and Enterprise use GPT-6 Sol; Free and Go use GPT-6 Luna”, from 7 October 2026 for paid plans and 8 October for Free and Go (OpenAI release notes) | Set by plan |
Microsoft’s plan pages still say GPT-5 and GPT-5.X, but its Copilot blog says licensed users can pick GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6.1 Sol, plus Anthropic’s Claude Opus 5.5 and Sonnet 5.5. The models overlap more than the plan pages suggest. What differs is which plan gets which model: Copilot Chat (Basic) and the consumer plans name no GPT-6 model, while OpenAI’s release notes date ChatGPT’s move to GPT-6 to 7 October 2026. The data differs too, since a licensed Copilot can reason over your Microsoft 365 content, which ChatGPT reaches through connectors (more on that below).
Which Copilot Are You Comparing?
Microsoft’s naming has changed, and its own pages do not all use the same names yet. Microsoft Learn’s licensing page calls the paid work license “Microsoft Copilot”, which “is available with Microsoft 365 E7 or as an add-on”, and its small-business version “Microsoft Copilot Business”, an add-on “for organizations with up to 300 users” (license options, updated 19 October 2026). The pricing pages sell them as “Microsoft 365 Copilot (for Department) (add-on)” and “Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on)”. Every price in the table below was read on 25 October 2026.
| Copilot you mean | Who gets it | US / India price | What it gives you | Nearest ChatGPT plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Free Copilot | Anyone with a free Microsoft account | Free | Microsoft’s comparison table lists “Limited usage with a free Microsoft account” | ChatGPT Free |
| Microsoft 365 Personal or Family | One person, or 1 to 6 people with “AI for subscription owner only” | $9.99 or $12.99 / ₹689 or ₹819 a month | Copilot in the Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote desktop apps, with “higher usage than free” | ChatGPT Go |
| Microsoft 365 Premium | 1 to 6 people, AI for the owner only | $19.99 / ₹1,999 a month | ”Extensive usage” plus “Agentic AI features … including advanced research and analytics” | ChatGPT Plus |
| Microsoft 365 Pro | 1 to 6 people, AI for the owner only; “Monthly billing only” | $99.99 / ₹9,999 a month | ”Highest usage” and 5 TB of shared storage (individuals page) | ChatGPT Pro |
| Copilot Chat (Basic) at work | Users with eligible Microsoft 365 work or school licenses | Included with the license | ”primarily web grounded”, plus files you upload or paste; in Outlook, your “inbox, calendar, meetings, chats, and limited related content” | ChatGPT Business |
| Copilot Business add-on | Organizations with up to 300 users on eligible Business plans | $18 promotional, list $21 / ₹1,495.73 promotional, list ₹1,745, per user a month | Web plus your Microsoft 365 data through “Graph API, Work IQ + semantic indexing” | ChatGPT Business |
| Microsoft Copilot add-on, or Microsoft 365 E7 | Enterprises on eligible plans; E7 “includes Microsoft Copilot” | $30 / ₹2,495 per user a month, paid yearly | The same organization-wide grounding, for organizations over 300 users | ChatGPT Enterprise |
The “nearest ChatGPT plan” column is my pairing by buyer and price, not a pairing either vendor publishes. On the OpenAI side, its pricing page listed Go at $8 a month, Plus at $20 and Pro from $100 (“Plans at $100, $200, or $500 USD per month”) on 25 October 2026. For what each ChatGPT plan includes, my Go vs Plus vs Pro comparison goes row by row through OpenAI’s own table.
To tell which Copilot you already have at work, read the label in the app. Microsoft Learn says “Copilot Chat (Basic)” means no add-on, and its users “don’t have access to Copilot in Word, Excel, PowerPoint, and OneNote”; “Microsoft 365 Copilot (Basic)” means standard access in those apps without the add-on; and “Microsoft 365 Copilot (Premium)” or “(Pro)” means the add-on license with priority access.
GitHub Copilot is a different product again, a coding assistant sold by GitHub (GitHub Copilot), and nothing in this comparison applies to it.
Is Copilot Free?
Yes, with limits, in two forms. A personal Microsoft account gets a free tier, and Microsoft’s plan comparison describes paid Personal as “Advanced Copilot chat with higher usage than free”. At work, Microsoft Learn says “Using Copilot Chat doesn’t require a Microsoft 365 Copilot license”, because Copilot Chat (Basic) is “included with eligible Microsoft 365 licenses”.
What the free and included tiers leave out, per Microsoft’s pages:
- Volume. The free account’s usage is listed as “Limited”, and Copilot Chat’s access to “file upload, image generation, and models (like GPT-5)” is “subject to service capacity availability”.
- Your work data. Without a Copilot license, Copilot Chat “doesn’t provide the broad Microsoft 365 organizational grounding that’s available through Work IQ”, except inside supported Outlook experiences.
- Copilot in the desktop Office apps. For home users it starts at Microsoft 365 Personal; Microsoft’s footnote says “AI features are not available in Microsoft 365 Basic”, its cheaper storage plan, which is a different thing from Copilot Chat (Basic).
Microsoft’s US and India individuals pages both advertised a one-month free trial of Microsoft 365 Premium on 25 October 2026. ChatGPT’s free plan is $0 too and runs GPT-6 Luna. ChatGPT Go is not free for new sign-ups in India any more, and the end of the free Go year has its own post.
Copilot vs ChatGPT Cost in the US and India
I fetched Microsoft’s US and India consumer pages logged out from an Indian connection (Cloudflare’s trace reported loc=IN) on 25 October 2026. The business rows come from Microsoft’s en-us and en-in Copilot pricing pages, read the same day. Prices and limits change, so recheck before you buy.
Microsoft 365 Plans With Copilot, for Individuals
| Plan | US monthly | US yearly | India monthly | India yearly |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 Personal | $9.99 | $99.99 | ₹689 | ₹6,899 |
| Microsoft 365 Family | $12.99 | $129.99 | ₹819 | ₹8,199 |
| Microsoft 365 Premium | $19.99 | $199.99 | ₹1,999 | ₹19,999 |
| Microsoft 365 Pro | $99.99 | Not offered | ₹9,999 | Not offered |
Sources: the US comparison page, the India comparison page, and the US and India individuals pages for Pro.
How to read the individual prices:
- Yearly billing saves money on Microsoft’s side. In the US, a year of Personal paid monthly is 12 x $9.99 = $119.88, or $19.89 more than the $99.99 yearly price, which matches the “Save $19.89 with a yearly plan” line Microsoft prints. In India the same sum is 12 x ₹689 = ₹8,268 against ₹6,899 yearly, ₹1,369 less (my arithmetic). For Premium it is 12 x ₹1,999 = ₹23,988 against ₹19,999, ₹3,989 less.
- ChatGPT has no yearly option on individual plans: OpenAI’s Go help article says it does “not support annual billing” for “ChatGPT Go, Plus, or Pro subscriptions”. Premium at ₹1,999 a month is the same monthly figure as ChatGPT Plus in India, which is billed monthly only; my rupee price list for every ChatGPT plan has the rest. Premium’s yearly price undercuts twelve Plus payments, and it adds the Office apps and 2 TB of storage.
- Personal includes “1 TB of secure cloud storage” alongside the Word, Excel, PowerPoint, Outlook and OneNote desktop apps, per the India comparison page.
- Family’s AI is not shared. Microsoft’s India FAQ says the AI features in Family, Premium and Pro “are only available to the subscription owner and cannot be shared with others.”
- I found no GST or tax wording on Microsoft’s en-in comparison page on 25 October 2026.
- Microsoft 365 Pro is sold in India: the India individuals page lists it at ₹9,999 a month, monthly billing only.
Copilot for Business vs ChatGPT for Business
| Plan | US price | India price | Billing |
|---|---|---|---|
| Microsoft 365 Copilot Business (add-on), up to 300 users | $18 per user a month on promotion, list $21 | ₹1,495.73 on promotion, list ₹1,745, “GST extra as applicable” | Annual commitment; prices shown are paid yearly (the page also offers a monthly payment option). The promotion runs from 1 July to 31 December 2026 and covers “the first year only” |
| Microsoft 365 Business Standard with Copilot | $23.50 per user a month | ₹1,955, “GST extra as applicable” | Annual commitment; prices shown are paid yearly (the page also offers a monthly payment option) |
| Microsoft 365 Business Premium with Copilot | $32 per user a month | ₹2,660, “GST extra as applicable” | Annual commitment; prices shown are paid yearly (the page also offers a monthly payment option) |
| Microsoft 365 Copilot (for Department) (add-on), enterprise | $30 per user a month paid yearly, or $31.50 paid monthly | ₹2,495, or ₹2,619.75 paid monthly, “GST extra as applicable" | "Annual commitment” either way |
| ChatGPT Business | $20 per user a month billed annually, $25 billed monthly, 2+ users | In my rupee price list above | Monthly or annual |
| ChatGPT Enterprise | ”Contact sales” | Not listed | Quote |
Sources: Microsoft’s business pricing and India business pricing, its enterprise page and India enterprise page, and OpenAI’s Work and Codex pricing page. The Copilot add-ons need a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan on top; Microsoft’s enterprise page says “A separate license for a qualifying Microsoft 365 plan is required.”
Microsoft also bills some features beyond the seat price. Its pricing page footnote says “Some AI experiences require usage-based billing and may result in charges based on usage, beyond your license fees”, and Cowork and Autopilot are listed as “Usage-based”.
Copilot or ChatGPT for Work: What Each Can See
Microsoft Learn’s Copilot Chat overview sets out grounding by experience:
| Experience | Grounding, in Microsoft’s words |
|---|---|
| Copilot Chat (web or app) | “Web + user-provided content + supported app context” |
| Copilot Chat in Outlook | ”Inbox, calendar, meetings, chats, and limited related content” |
| Microsoft Copilot licensed experience | ”Graph API, Work IQ + semantic indexing across Microsoft 365” |
With the license, Microsoft says Copilot can reason across emails, meetings, calendars, chats, documents, sites and files that the user already has permission to open, and it “Doesn’t grant access to additional organizational content.” Since both sides now offer GPT-6 models to paying work users, I would weigh data access before model quality when choosing for work.
On the ChatGPT side, OpenAI’s pricing page lists for Business “No training on your business data by default” and “A secure, dedicated workspace with essential admin controls, SAML SSO, and MFA”. Microsoft’s comparison page against ChatGPT Enterprise argues that Microsoft 365 data reached through ChatGPT connectors “is processed outside the Microsoft 365 service boundary”. That is one vendor’s claim about a rival, and the page’s footnotes describe its comparisons as simulated videos captured between 19 December 2025 and 17 August 2026.
Copilot vs ChatGPT: Which to Pick by Reader
| If you are | Lean toward | Reason, from the vendor pages |
|---|---|---|
| On a company Microsoft 365 license, working in Word, Excel, Outlook and Teams | Copilot Chat first, then the Copilot Business add-on (up to 300 users) or the enterprise add-on | Copilot Chat is already included; a Copilot license adds Work IQ grounding across Microsoft 365 |
| Running a team of up to 300 on Microsoft 365 Business | Price both: Copilot Business add-on vs ChatGPT Business | $18 promotional (list $21) per user a month plus your Business plan, against $20 per user a month for ChatGPT Business, both billed yearly |
| A solo marketer already paying for Microsoft 365 Personal | Use the Copilot you have before adding ChatGPT | Personal already lists “Advanced Copilot chat with higher usage than free” and Copilot in the Office apps |
| Want GPT-6 models without paying for a Microsoft 365 Copilot license | ChatGPT (Free and Go run GPT-6 Luna, Plus and up GPT-6 Sol) | Microsoft’s GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6.1 Sol announcements cover licensed Copilot, Copilot Cowork and Copilot Studio |
| A budget-first buyer in India | Both free tiers, then Microsoft 365 Personal or ChatGPT Go | Personal is ₹689 a month with the Office apps and 1 TB of storage; Go’s rupee price is in my ChatGPT price list linked above |
| Sharing one plan with family | Budget the AI per person on either side | Microsoft 365 Family’s AI is “only available to the subscription owner” |
If you track where AI referrals to your site come from, Copilot shows up there too, and GA4’s AI Assistant channel is where to look for it. If Claude is also on your list, my Claude vs ChatGPT comparison runs the same exercise across marketing jobs.
Copilot vs ChatGPT: Name the Copilot Before You Compare
The comparison stops being a vague question once you name which Copilot you mean: the included work chat, a home plan, or a paid add-on, and each pairs with a different ChatGPT plan at a different price. Microsoft’s Learn pages and its pricing pages use different names for the same add-ons, and its plan pages lag its model announcements, so the tables above are dated to the day I read them, 25 October 2026.
Check the Copilot label in your own Word or Outlook today and match it to a row in the “Which Copilot” table.
Frequently Asked Questions
Is Copilot the same as ChatGPT?
No. Copilot is Microsoft's assistant and ChatGPT is OpenAI's, sold and billed separately. Both offer OpenAI models: Microsoft Learn says Copilot Chat includes models like GPT-5, Microsoft's business pricing page lists GPT-5.X, and Microsoft's Copilot blog says licensed users can pick GPT-6 Sol and GPT-6.1 Sol, as of 25 October 2026.
Is Microsoft Copilot free?
Yes, with limits. Microsoft's plan comparison lists limited usage with a free Microsoft account, and Copilot Chat is included with eligible Microsoft 365 work licenses at no extra cost. Higher usage comes with Microsoft 365 Personal, Family, Premium or Pro, and broad work-data grounding needs a Microsoft Copilot license (an add-on or a Business plan with Copilot), apart from Copilot Chat in supported Outlook experiences.
Which is better for work, Copilot or ChatGPT?
If your company already runs Microsoft 365, start with the Copilot Chat your license includes, and pay for a Copilot add-on (Copilot Business for up to 300 users, or the enterprise one) only when you need answers grounded in your mail, meetings and files. If your work happens outside Microsoft 365, ChatGPT Business fits better.
Does Copilot use GPT-5?
Yes. Microsoft Learn says Copilot Chat includes models like GPT-5 and picks one with a real-time router in Auto mode, and Microsoft's pricing page lists GPT-5.X on its business plans. Licensed users can also pick GPT-6 Sol, GPT-6.1 Sol and Claude models, per Microsoft's Copilot blog of 30 September 2026.
How much does Microsoft 365 Copilot cost in India?
On Microsoft's India pages on 25 October 2026, the enterprise Copilot add-on was ₹2,495 per user a month paid yearly, GST extra, and the Copilot Business add-on was ₹1,495.73 on a promotion running to 31 December 2026 (list ₹1,745). For individuals, Microsoft 365 Personal with Copilot was ₹689 a month.